Gear jammer

Transmission update

A small update about VANessa’s gear box. The mechanic determined that it had a leak that either developed after the initial rebuild or was always there (he didn’t specify). As a result, the clutches seized up. When he tried to remove them from it, he accidentally cracked the case. He’s now trying to find a new core (entire tranny).

I didn’t notice anything weird, other than power that felt held-back, until I had almost arrived at the Home Depot. It felt like the brakes were applied, but they weren’t. It wasn’t until I tried to pull out of the loading spot that the problems were prominent and debilitating.

In light of this development, the question I’m posing to myself is whether there was something I could have done to prevent damage. I attributed the sluggish power to worn-out front springs and shocks. I didn’t think the transmission was the culprit until I couldn’t go into reverse gear. I didn’t notice any leaking either. I took any transmission issues out of the equation because I assumed that it had been fixed.

In any event, he’s going to make it right, so I’m not too upset. I can still use my pickup in the interim, which, itself isn’t doing too well. From the meter test I performed on the battery while the motor was running versus not, the alternator is definitely charging. However, as mentioned in a previous post, I think the cables themselves have issues. Case in point, after attempting to leave the library after borrowing some DVDs, the S10 had no power whatsoever. I was just about to call AAA when I decided to pop the hood to take a look. After only jiggling some cables, the motor was able to start right up without an ounce of hesitation. Thus, I think the connection to the battery is inconsistent. Therefore, the alternator is unable to consistently charge the battery. As soon as it stops raining, I’ll attempt to buy a positive cable to match my new negative one, and install both of them. I’m thinking that this will solve the issues in this regard.

Leave a comment