I don’t know what I’m doing

A week or two ago, I was really frustrated. I was frustrated about the van’s layout and being able to do everything that I could do to make it look like the other layouts that I’ve seen. Seeing the myriad of Instagram posts and YouTube vlogs showing carpentry perfection in photo form gave me hope that, I, too, can do this. I just wish that I was as talented and experienced as them.

I want these things. I want to create these things. I want the beauty of them to influence a smile and spring satisfaction in myself.

Unfortunately, I’m restricted by my own shortcomings, such as a lack of knowledge, time, and money, but having an abundance of inconsistency, second-guessing, and trepidation about the consequences of my inevitable screwups.

I wish I had someone to help me, but I don’t have anybody, locally, at least. I wish that I had some inspirational words to demonstrate what I can overcome, but I don’t. Having said that, I will get through it, but it’s not gonna look as nice as I want it to be, it’s not going to be the beautiful creation that I envisioned, which would really be a amalgamation of others’ ideas. It’s not going to be perfect, but it may be functional. At least, I hope that it’s going to be functional and not fall apart.

Van Update

As far as the van goes, the transmission has been fixed. The third time was the charm as it shifts fine. Now, I can move on to the other items I have waiting for me.

I began insulating the van using some foil-lined foam that I got at a discount because it was damaged. I have seen videos saying to use 3M super 77 spray adhesive. I followed the instructions, including preparing the surface, spraying, waiting until it was tacky, and attempted to affix it to the ceiling, but it did not work for me. Perhaps it was too heavy? Perhaps the fiberglass underlay was not good enough for adhesion?

In any case, I was a bit pissed off. I didn’t want to go back to the store. I didn’t want to go spend more money. Eventually, I found some wide washers to go with the 1-1/4 inch screws previously purchased. I used those to screw the insulation into the ceiling. The ceiling itself is fiberglass, but not a hightop. It is strengthened by a number of 1 x 6 (?) boards that run the length of it. They are, in turn, masked with fiberglass to integrate them into the structure. The solution worked, and I can remove the sheets if I need to at a later date.

My next step is to run some spray foam in between the joints, and then try to cover the insulation with something that looks decent, is thin, and doesn’t attract mold.

Well, that’s all I have for today. If you have any ideas, encouragement, or anything that you’d like to say, please make a comment. As always, thanks for reading.

Leave a comment